Holly Springs Town Council

The Mayor and Town Council

The Holly Springs Town Council consists of five elected officials under the leadership of Mayor Dick Sears (seated, center).  Members of the Town Council are (back row, from left) Councilman Shaun McGrath, Councilman Pete Villadsen, Councilman Dan Berry, Councilwoman Christine Kelly (seated, left), and Councilman Aaron Wolff (seated, right).  The Council meets at 7 p.m. the first and third Tuesday at Town Hall. An additional workshop is held at 6 p.m. the second Tuesday in the Town Hall Holleman Room. Meetings are open to the public.

Town HallTown Government

The Town of Holly Springs was established with its incorporation by the North Carolina General Assembly on January 26, 1877, after the Town’s founder, George Benton Alford, petitioned the State of North Carolina to adopt the Town’s original incorporation charter. A number of charter revisions were adopted by the General Assembly during the past century, and the latest version of the Town Charter was passed in 2003. It sets out the current structure of government in Holly Springs. 

The Town operates under the council-manager form of government, in which an elected Town Council (consisting of a mayor and five council members) establishes policy, ordains law, decides how land is developed, and hires a professional, politically neutral town manager to run day-to-day operations. The town manager also is to provide the council with objective, rational advice and recommendations and to carry out the decisions made by the council in a manner based on sound business practices.

Related Topics